About the Seventeenth IWAC Conference

Welcome to the Seventeenth International Writing Across the Curriculum Conference. 

IWAC is presented by the Association for Writing Across the Curriculum (AWAC). Prior to the formation of AWAC, the conference was managed by an independent group of conference directors. In 2018, the conference directors affiliated IWAC with the newly formed association. You can learn more by reading Marty Townsend's history of the IWAC conference

For more information, contact us at

Who is Involved?

Conference Directors

Caleb González, Ohio State University

Madeline "Annie" Halseth, Colorado State University

Jesse McLain, Colorado State University

Mike Palmquist, Colorado State University

Conference Advisory Board

Ann N. Amicucci, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs

Christopher Basgier, Auburn University

Charles Bazerman, University of California Santa Barbara

Erin Beaver, Colorado Mountain College

Ann Blakeslee, Eastern Michigan University

Cameron Bushnell, Clemson University

Julia Chen, Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Pamela Childers, The McCallie School

Michael Cripps, University of New England

Michelle Trillium Crow, Cornell University

Jill Dahlman, California Northstate University College of Health Sciences

Sue Doe, Colorado State University

Heather Falconer, University of Maine

Rich Fisher, University of Wyoming

Pamela Flash, University of Minnesota

Christy Goldsmith, University of Missouri

Magnus Gustafsson, Chalmers University of Technology

Al Harahap, University of Oklahoma

Lindsey Harding, University of Georgia

Brian Hendrickson, Roger Williams University

Yndalecio Isaac Hinojosa, Texas A&M University

Alyson Huff, Colorado State University

Sue Hum, University of Texas at San Antonio

Asao Inoue, Arizona State University

Lennie Irvin, San Antonio College

Elaine Maimon, American Council on Education

Maureen A. Mathison, University of Utah

Aimee McClure, Clarke University

Daniel L. Melzer, University of California Davis

Joan Mullin, University of North Carolina Charlotte

Susan Wolff Murphy, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Lee Nickoson, Bowling Green State University

Karen P. Peirce, KPP Communications

Michael Pemberton, Georgia Southern University

Justin King Rademaekers, West Chester University of Pennsylvania

Rich Rice, Texas Tech University

Alisa Russell, University of Kansas

John Scenters-Zapico, California State University Long Beach

Nancy Ruth Small, University of Wyoming

Susan Thomas, The University of Sydney, Australia

Marty Townsend, University of Missouri

Kristen Welch, Spartanburg Methodist College

Tara Wood, University of Northern Colorado

Terry Myers Zawacki, George Mason University

Zhang Shuting, Anhui University